Twitter Facebook Flickr YouTube
Call us: 217-241-3511 |

Board of Directors

Updated January 2021

The Illinois Head Start Association is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of (20) members: (5) Parent Representatives, (5) Staff Representatives, (5) Director Representatives, and (5) Friend Representatives. The Board members are appointed to an IHSA Committee (see below for committee details) in which they do valuable work for the association and the young children of Illinois. In March, the Board of Directors elected a President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer to serve a two year term.


Gene Howell (Director Rep), President

Kyle Hubert (Parent Rep), Vice President

Lea Maue (Director Rep), Treasurer

Michelle Wood (Friend Rep), Secretary


Alisa Newman (Director Rep)
Betty Edwards (Friends Rep)
Carla Ford (Parent Rep)
Cathy Blevins (Staff Rep)
Curt Holderfield (Friend Rep)
Dana Garner (Friend Rep)
Ericka Williams (Staff Rep)
Gene Howell (Director Rep)
Kathy Fudge-White (Director Rep)
Katie Day (Parent Rep)
Kyle Hubert (Parent Rep)
LaChar Crayton (Parent Rep)
Lea Maue (Director Rep)
Linda Wang (Director Rep)
Mario Perez (Friend Rep)
Marquita Jackson (Staff Rep)
Michelle Wood (Friend Rep)
Robert Jackson III (Parent Rep)

[Two OPEN board seats for Staff Rep]

New group photo to be placed here, after COVID restrictions are lifted.

(*) one or more current board members to be spotlighted in each new IHSAdvisor newsletter!


Previous Board of Directors

Front row, l-r:  LaChar Crayton (Parent Rep), Destiney Hearn (Staff Rep), Lisa Russell (Friend Rep), Cathy Blevins (Staff Rep), Teena Alpers (Staff Rep), Michelle Wood (Friend Rep), Alisa Newman (Director Rep) and Robert Jackson III (Parent Rep).  Back row l-r: Curt Holderfield (Friend Rep),  Kyle Hubert (Parent Rep), Carla Ford (Parent Rep), Gene Howell (Director Rep), and Ericka Williams (Staff Rep).

Not pictured are: Betty Edwards (Friends Rep), Sharon Frame (Director Rep), Dana Garner (Friend Rep), Lea Maue (Director Rep), Candace Moore (Staff Rep), Julnar Shelby-Brown (Parent Rep), and Kathy Fudge-White (Director Rep).

IHSA Standing Committees:

Professional/Leadership Development

  • This committee will position IHSA as the preferred training and technical assistance provider for Head Start/Early Head Start in the state of Illinois; and foster and disseminate innovative practices within the membership community, and develop competent leaders.

Organizational Capacity Building/Finance

  • This committee will grow and diversify revenue; build organizational capacity; and enhance membership services and resources.

Awareness and Advocacy

  • This committee will set direction and provide leadership for supporting revenue growth, including the dollar per child campaign, with a continued focus on providing quality services for membership.

Lauri Morrison-Frichtl, Executive Director

Illinois Head Start Association